Christmas – creating new and carrying on old family traditions

I’m not a very Christmassy person anymore, had a string of horrible Christmas’ that have tainted the whole experience for me but I don’t want ruin it for Moonpie, after all Christmas is mainly for the kids and I want her to enjoy it as much as I used too.

I know she’s still too little to understand but I want to start making our own traditions now as well as carrying on a few from my childhood.

We didn’t have many traditions but the ones we did were lovely, the advent calendars (to be honest everyone has this one I think), decorating the tree (although my mum really did this one alone, she would let us hang a few ornaments under supervision.) specific decorations that came out every year with out fail… two snow globes, one was a snowman and the other was father Christmas, tree ornaments that me and my siblings had made, plastic wall decorations and a very old angel that sat on top of the tree. My dad’s sides Christmas party was always fun,getting to see my grandparents, all my cousins, aunts and uncles under one roof (there’s alot of us.)  Another was spending  Christmas eve day with my dad’s side of the family and then seeing my mums side on boxing day. we were allowed to open one small present in the evening.

My favourite however was on Christmas morning before we opened any presents, we would all sit down with hot chocolate, a bacon sandwich and special Christmas biscuits.

A few of these traditions I do want to carry on, I want our own ones too. I have a few ideas like going to see the Christmas lights turned on, a trip to winter wonderland, making our own Christmas decorations and I love the idea of a Christmas eve box, filled with new pj’s,  a Christmas film to watch ect and spending it with family I think is the most important one of all.

I would love to hear if anyone else has a any Christmas traditions – old or new 

2 thoughts on “Christmas – creating new and carrying on old family traditions

  1. I love Christmas and we’ve introduced a Christmas eve box. New pj’s a Christmas dvd and some treats, the bear was a little young last year but I’m hoping she’ll love it this year!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

